Election 2020: My Tik Tok Coverage

Tyler Campbell
2 min readNov 20, 2020

--

Tik Tok is a somewhat new social media outlet that allows its users to post and view creative videos. Tik Tok videos commonly have music attached to them, while the creators dance or display a slideshow of images or videos. These videos are typically made for entertainment, but they can be used for informational purposes.

I created an election-related Tik Tok that was aimed to give a brief overview of this year’s election. I used Drake’s ‘Toosie Slide,’ which is a popular song to dance to on Tik Tok. I used pictures of the Republican and Democratic candidates to go along with the lyrics of the song.

https://vm.tiktok.com/ZMJQAVqwt/

When Drake says, “left foot up,” there is a picture of Joe Biden; when he says, “right foot up,” there is a picture of Donald Trump. In the middle of the video, it says, “and the winner is,” then shows Joe Biden with Kamala Harris. Finally, Kamala Harris is doing her own dance moves at the end of the video.

Over the past couple of weeks, I have been looking through Tik Tok for entertaining election-related videos. Now, it’s time to make my contribution to the app. It’s a short video at about 15 seconds but should get the point across. This Tik Tok was fun to make and has a humorous twist to it. Click here if you would like to check it out.

--

--

Tyler Campbell

Writer and Journalist student at the University of Houston. Documenting my journey throughout my academic career. @TylerCam_COMM